Diamond Color Scale: Diamond Colors Explained

Diamond color is an essential attribute you need to look out for when buying a diamond. Interestingly, the term diamond color is about the absence of color in diamonds. 

The lesser the color a diamond has, the higher is its value. Crystal clear, white, or colorless diamonds are rare. And so, they are the highest quality diamonds around.   

Every diamond at Gold Galore Jewelers has been assigned a color grade by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA). We have trained professionals that can detect subtle differences in diamond colors with exceptional precision. You can rest assured our diamonds are graded accurately.

What is the Diamond Color Scale?

The diamond color scale is a grading system developed by the GIA. It is a widely accepted industry standard for grading a diamond’s color.  

You see, most diamonds sold on the market are almost colorless to an untrained eye. But in reality, diamond colors range from light yellow or brown to absolutely colorless. It is for this reason that the GIA developed the diamond color scale.

The Diamond Color Scale

The diamond color scale starts with the letter D, which represents colorless diamonds. The color scale ends with the letter Z, which represents diamonds with a noticeable yellow tint. 

There are five categories in the diamond color scale. The color grades range from “light in color” to “colorless.”

Colorless. Diamonds represented by color grades D, E, and F on the scale are colorless. Grade D diamonds are absolutely colorless and extremely rare. Grades E and F have little traces of color that everyday consumers hardly notice.

Near Colorless. Diamond color grades G, H, I and J, represent Near Colorless diamonds. Consumers will hardly notice their slightly warm, yellow tone unless compared side-by-side with higher-grade diamonds.

Faint. Grades K, L, and M represent the Faint color category. An untrained eye should notice a visible yellow tint. Diamonds under this category are less desirable and usually cost 50% less compared to G-grade diamonds. 

Very Light. Grades N, O, P, Q, and R have noticeable color and represent the Very Light category. Diamonds in this category have the lowest prices since the demand is low.

Light. Grades from S to Z belong to the Light category. Surprisingly, diamonds in this range have greater demand than Very Light diamonds. One possible reason might be their slightly stronger color, which many people see as yellow diamonds. Yet, these diamonds don’t belong to the fancy-colored category.  

Fancy Colored Diamonds

diamond color scale

Diamonds with vivid colors have a different grading scheme, which is based on color intensity. Instead of letters, descriptive words are used to represent the grades of fancy-colored diamonds. 

The fancy colored diamond color scale:

  1. Faint
  2. Very Light
  3. Light
  4. Fancy Light
  5. Fancy
  6. Fancy Intense
  7. Fancy Dark, Fancy Deep, or Fancy Vivid 

Let Us Guide You in Choosing Your Diamond

One of the most crucial aspects of the diamond buying process is knowing the diamond color. Overlooking the subtle differences in diamond colors could result in a disappointing purchase of an unsightly-tinged stone. 

Still can’t figure out which diamond color to choose? Contact or visit us, and we’ll help you find the perfect diamond that fits your budget and taste.

Click Here to Leave a Comment Below

Leave a Reply: